Lesley Knox

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Selling Stock Photos March 21, 2011

Filed under: Creativity — Lesley Knox Photography @ 5:28 pm

First, I have come to realize that “I” am not the best about blogging. Most in the profession say that you should find time to blog at least once a day or a few times a week. UM……that is tough for me to fill. But I am trying harder.

Second, this week I took on an adventure. Selected some pictures I have taken on the side, as “Stock” portraits. There are many different online sources in which to sell your stock on. So….why not give it a try since business is a bit slow and the extra $$$$ could be well used.

The response was not want I had expected and certainly had me doubting my photography abilities…..but are not all artists their own worst critic???

The first company was just a try, but was not the one I really wanted to go with to begin. It was the easiest to post too, once I figured out Firezilla. They crashed down 8 of the 10 images submitted. You had to have 7 of 10 approved in order to become their “client.”

Then I tried iStockphoto……looking at some of the pictures they had available for stock purchase, that I would not have a problem…..they also only required 3 pictures for submission.

The response was this…. “At this time we regret to inform you that we did not feel the overall composition of your photography or subject matter is at the minimum level of standard for iStockphoto. The photographs provided in your application should be diverse in subject matter, technical ability and should be your best work. Think conceptual, creative and most important think Stock photography. Try to avoid the average eye level push the button perspective of a common subject. Try and impress us, we want to see how you stand out from the crowd. ”

These are the pictures I have submitted for stock………please feel free to tell me your thoughts!

 

Leave a Reply

